Journalism Students to Compete at UHSM

Conference Conducted March 17-18 at Marshall University’s W.Page Pitt School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Alexis Hudson, Staff Reporter


The Lewis County High School Newspaper and Yearbook Staff traveled to Marshall University on March 18, 2016 to compete in the United High School Media. Many students from LCHS won awards in the competition. The awards follow:


Online Issue Overall-
2nd Place

Column Writing-
1st Place (Maddie Paugh, Editor)

Info Graphic-
1st Place (Haley Lamb, Assistant Editor)
3rd Place (Maddie Paugh, Editor & Devin Woody, Assistant Editor)

1st & 2nd Place (Devin Woody, Assistant Editor)

Feature Writing-
1st Place (Caitlyn Jenkins, Staff Reporter)
3rd Place (Erica Vandall, Staff Reporter & Jacob Cruz, Staff Reporter)

In-Depth Reporting-
1st Place (Caitlyn Jenkins, Staff Reporter)

1st Place (Sarah Flesher, Staff Reporter)

News Writing-
3rd Place (Sarah Flesher, Staff Reporter)

Editorial Writing-
2nd Place (Erica Vandall, Staff Reporter & Jacob Cruz, Staff Reporter)

Feature/ Special Events-
3rd Place (Erica Vandall, Staff Reporter & Jacob Cruz, Staff Reporter)

Best Feature Photo-
3rd Place (Sky Nichols, Staff Reporter)


Copy Writing- 2nd Place
Cover- 3rd Place
Graphics- 3rd Place
Overall Design- 3rd Place
Theme- 3rd Place
Division Pages- 3rd Place


21 years and more than 100 awards later, LCHS student journalists continue to compete at the state’s most prestigious journalism competition.

Journalism students will travel to Huntington, WV next week to compete at the United High School Media (UHSM) Conference and Competition March 17 and 18.

Newspaper students entered a variety of staff and individual competitions ranging from news, feature, sports, opinion, photography and design.  They have earned awards in these areas as well as individual recognition and overall excellence.

They are hopeful for recognition with the new online publication.

“A lot of our staff’s focus has been to establishing and keeping up with our online site. We opted to do this since our print paper readership has steadily declined, and most students are reading our paper more regularly,” Mrs. Lesley White, adviser, said.

Yearbook students, under the direction of Mrs. Theresa Johnston, also are competing for awards.

staff earned top spots in design, art, lay-out, copy, photography and overall excellence for the past several years.

The publication is published by Herff-Jones.

While attending the conference, students will attend two break-out workshop sessions, tour the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism, compete in the Journalism Quiz Bowl and attend the awards banquet.

Both publications have earned the state’s runner-up award for the past three years, falling short to Braxton County in both areas.